Always Beta

DevOps for Cyber-Physical Products

Agile development methods describe the iterative development, testing and validation of product increments. For the development of cyber-physical products, these methods are novel and mainly used in the creation phase. The use phase in particular offers enormous potential for gaining knowledge about products and their use. Originally defined assumptions about the use of the products can only be validated in this phase.

In the software industry, the DevOps concept accelerates the cooperation between the development and operations departments so that the short-cycle further development of products can be implemented during the utilization phase.

This approach, transferred to cyber-physical products, is the central enabler for Always Beta. Always Beta describes the continuous state of a product version as a test version for the subsequent optimized product release. Thus, the DevOps approach supports a novel possibility to react to customer needs and to further develop the products according to their actual use. Accordingly, the potential for agility can be significantly increased once again.

The Internet of Production provides the infrastructure for the implementation of the DevOps concept for cyber-physical products. Development and user cycle are connected by returning data from the product use in a structured way to the development. Therefore, optimization potentials can be systematically identified and implemented in the product in form of software and hardware releases. Targeted product development can increase target values such as overall equipment efficiency and contribute to the conservation of resources.

back
Mögliches Smart Automation Ecosystem mit Fokus auf der Produktion

Image 1: Framework of the presentation “Always Beta – DevOps for Cyber-Physical Products”

YouTube

By downloading the video you accept the privacy policy of YouTube.
More information

Load video

*English subtitles available

Always Beta

DevOps for Cyber-Physical Products

Agile development methods describe the iterative development, testing and validation of product increments. For the development of cyber-physical products, these methods are novel and mainly used in the creation phase. The use phase in particular offers enormous potential for gaining knowledge about products and their use. Originally defined assumptions about the use of the products can only be validated in this phase.

In the software industry, the DevOps concept accelerates the cooperation between the development and operations departments so that the short-cycle further development of products can be implemented during the utilization phase.

This approach, transferred to cyber-physical products, is the central enabler for Always Beta. Always Beta describes the continuous state of a product version as a test version for the subsequent optimized product release. Thus, the DevOps approach supports a novel possibility to react to customer needs and to further develop the products according to their actual use. Accordingly, the potential for agility can be significantly increased once again.

The Internet of Production provides the infrastructure for the implementation of the DevOps concept for cyber-physical products. Development and user cycle are connected by returning data from the product use in a structured way to the development. Therefore, optimization potentials can be systematically identified and implemented in the product in form of software and hardware releases. Targeted product development can increase target values such as overall equipment efficiency and contribute to the conservation of resources.

back
Mögliches Smart Automation Ecosystem mit Fokus auf der Produktion

Image 1: Framework of the presentation “Always Beta – DevOps for Cyber-Physical Products”

YouTube

By downloading the video you accept the privacy policy of YouTube.
More information

Load video

*English subtitles available

Always Beta

DevOps für cyber-physische Produkte

Agile Entwicklungsmethoden beschreiben das iterative Entwickeln, Testen und Validieren von Produktinkrementen. Diese neuen Entwicklungsmethoden für cyber-physische Produkte werden hauptsächlich in der Entstehungsphase genutzt. Dabei bietet besonders die Nutzungsphase enorme Potenziale zum Erkenntnisgewinn über Produkte und deren Nutzung. Ursprünglich definierte Annahmen zur Nutzung der Produkte können erst in dieser Phase konkret validiert werden.

In der Softwarebranche wird durch das DevOps-Konzept die Zusammenarbeit den Bereichen Development und Operations beschleunigt, sodass die kurzzyklische Weiterentwicklung von Produkten während der Nutzungsphase umgesetzt werden kann.

Dieses Vorgehen, übertragen auf cyber-physische Produkte, ist der zentrale Befähiger für Always Beta: Always Beta beschreibt den kontinuierlichen Zustand einer Produktversion als Testversion für das jeweils darauffolgende, optimierte Produktrelease. So unterstützt der DevOps-Ansatz eine neue Möglichkeit, auf Kundenbedürfnisse zu reagieren und die Produkte entsprechend der tatsächlichen Nutzung weiter zu entwickeln. Auf diese Weise können die Potenziale der Agilität nochmals deutlich gesteigert werden.

Das Internet of Production bietet die Infrastruktur für die Umsetzung des DevOps-Konzepts für cyber-physische Produkte. Development und User Cycle werden verbunden, indem Daten aus der Produktnutzung strukturiert in die Entwicklung zurückgeführt werden. So können Optimierungspotenziale systematisch identifiziert und in Form von Software- und Hardware-Releases in das Produkt implementiert werden. Durch eine gezielte Produktweiterentwicklung können Zielgrößen wie die Overall Equipment Efficiency gesteigert werden und zur Schonung von Ressourcen beitragen.

zurück zum AWKonline
Mögliches Smart Automation Ecosystem mit Fokus auf der Produktion

Bild 1: Ordnungsrahmen des Konzepts „Always Beta – DevOps für cyber-physische Produkte“

Beitrag im Tagungsband
YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Always Beta

DevOps für cyber-physische Produkte

Agile Entwicklungsmethoden beschreiben das iterative Entwickeln, Testen und Validieren von Produktinkrementen. Diese neuen Entwicklungsmethoden für cyber-physische Produkte werden hauptsächlich in der Entstehungsphase genutzt. Dabei bietet besonders die Nutzungsphase enorme Potenziale zum Erkenntnisgewinn über Produkte und deren Nutzung. Ursprünglich definierte Annahmen zur Nutzung der Produkte können erst in dieser Phase konkret validiert werden.

In der Softwarebranche wird durch das DevOps-Konzept die Zusammenarbeit den Bereichen Development und Operations beschleunigt, sodass die kurzzyklische Weiterentwicklung von Produkten während der Nutzungsphase umgesetzt werden kann.

Dieses Vorgehen, übertragen auf cyber-physische Produkte, ist der zentrale Befähiger für Always Beta: Always Beta beschreibt den kontinuierlichen Zustand einer Produktversion als Testversion für das jeweils darauffolgende, optimierte Produktrelease. So unterstützt der DevOps-Ansatz eine neue Möglichkeit, auf Kundenbedürfnisse zu reagieren und die Produkte entsprechend der tatsächlichen Nutzung weiter zu entwickeln. Auf diese Weise können die Potenziale der Agilität nochmals deutlich gesteigert werden.

Das Internet of Production bietet die Infrastruktur für die Umsetzung des DevOps-Konzepts für cyber-physische Produkte. Development und User Cycle werden verbunden, indem Daten aus der Produktnutzung strukturiert in die Entwicklung zurückgeführt werden. So können Optimierungspotenziale systematisch identifiziert und in Form von Software- und Hardware-Releases in das Produkt implementiert werden. Durch eine gezielte Produktweiterentwicklung können Zielgrößen wie die Overall Equipment Efficiency gesteigert werden und zur Schonung von Ressourcen beitragen.

zurück zum AWKonline
Mögliches Smart Automation Ecosystem mit Fokus auf der Produktion

Bild 1: Ordnungsrahmen des Konzepts „Always Beta – DevOps für cyber-physische Produkte“

Beitrag im Tagungsband
YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden